## BRENNAN CARON LENEHAN & IACOPINO

## ATTORNEYS AT LAW

85 BROOK STREET MANCHESTER, NEW HAMPSHIRE 03104

TELEPHONE • TELECOPIER 603-668-8300 603-668-1029

WEB ADDRESS: www.bclilaw.com



WILLIAM E. BRENNAN \*
RONALD J. CARON
MICHAEL J. IACOPINO
KATHLEEN A. HICKEY
WILLIAM J. QUINN
JAYE L. RANCOURT \*\*
DANIEL J. KALINSKI
IRYNA N. DORE \*
JENNA M. BERGERON \*

Of Counsel GARY S. LENEHAN JAMES A. CONNOR

> \*Also admitted MA \*\*Also admitted ME

February 14, 2014

Mr. Richard Bielefield Town of Sugar Hill Board of Selectmen 1411 Main St., Box 574 Sugar Hill, NH 03586

Ms. Margaret J. Connors Town of Sugar Hill Board of Selectmen 1411 Main St., Box 574 Sugar Hill, NH 03586

Mr. John Strasser Sugar Hill Board of Selectmen 1411 Main St., Box 574 Sugar Hill, NH 03586

Lissa Boissonneault, Town Clerk Town of Sugar Hill 1411 Main St., Box 574 Sugar Hill, NH 03586

Re: Application of New England Power Company d/b/a National Grid for a Certificate of Site and Facility for Construction of a New 230kV Tap Line in Littleton N.H.

Dear Selectmen and Town Clerk:

I am writing to you in my capacity as counsel to the New Hampshire Site Evaluation Committee. On February 10, 2014, New England Power Company d/b/a National Grid (Applicant) filed an Application for a Certificate of Site and Facility for the siting, construction and operation of an electric transmission line identified as a 230 kV tap line (Facility.) The Facility is proposed to extend from the Applicant's existing C203 transmission line to the Public Service of New Hampshire (PSNH) substation located at 266 Foster Hill Road in Littleton. The project is located entirely in the Town of Littleton (Grafton County) New Hampshire.

Town of Sugar Hill February 14, 2014 Page 2

The Facility lies within an area that is primarily zoned Rural with the northernmost portion zoned as Commercial III. The Facility site comprises forested land located immediately to the west of an existing right-of-way that is currently occupied by three other transmission lines. The existing tap right-of-way is approximately 450 feet wide and would be widened by approximately 135 feet to accommodate the new C203 Tap Line and to ensure proper clearances from falling trees.

The Facility is an energy facility as that term is defined by RSA 162-H: 2, VII (e).

Pursuant to RSA 162-H: 16, IV (b), the Site Evaluation Committee, as part of its review, must consider whether the site and facility will "unduly interfere with the orderly development of the region with due consideration having been given to the views of the municipal and regional planning commissions and municipal governing bodies". The purpose of this letter is to provide you with notice of the filing of the Application. If you have not already received a copy of the Application, please contact me and we will make arrangements to provide you with a copy.

You are receiving this letter because your town abuts the Town of Littleton and may be affected by these proceedings.

If the Chairman of the Site Evaluation Committee, Thomas S. Burack, determines that the Application contains sufficient information to carry out the purposes of RSA 162-H, this matter will be scheduled for public information hearings and further proceedings consistent with the time frames set forth for energy facilities set forth at RSA 162-H: 7. You will receive notice of all such proceedings and the views of the town will be considered pursuant to RSA 541-A:39. If the Town of Sugar Hill wishes to intervene as a party in this docket, it will be necessary to file a Motion to Intervene consistent with RSA 541-A:32 and NEW HAMPSHIRE CODE OF ADMINISTRATIVE REGULATIONS, Site 202.11.

Public comments regarding this Application may be directed to the office of the secretary of the Site Evaluation Committee:

Jane Murray, Secretary
NH Site Evaluation Committee
Department of Environmental Services
29 Hazen Dr., Box 95
Concord, NH 03302-0095

Town of Sugar Hill February 14, 2014 Page 3

Should you have any questions, please feel free to contact me.

Very truly/yours,

Michael J. Iacopino

MJI/tm

cc:

Thomas S. Burack, Chair, NHSEC

Barry Needleman, Esq.

Jane Murray, Secretary, NHSEC