## STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE SITE EVALUATION COMMITTEE

## Docket No. 2015-06

Joint Application of Northern Pass Transmission LLC and Public Service Company of New Hampshire d/b/a Eversource Energy for a Certificate of Site and Facility,

## ORDER APPOINTING SUBCOMMITTEE

On October 19, 2015, Northern Pass Transmission LLC and Public Service Company of New Hampshire d/b/a Eversource Energy, filed an application for a certificate of site and facility (Application) with the Site Evaluation Committee (Committee). The Application seeks the issuance of a Certificate of Site and Facility approving the siting, construction, and operation of a proposed electric transmission line with a 1,090 MW transfer rating, extending approximately 192 miles from the Canadian border in Pittsburg, NH, to a substation located in Deerfield, NH. The Project, as proposed, is comprised of a 158.3-mile, +/- 320 kV direct current (DC) segment and a 33.7-mile 345 kV alternating current (AC) segment. Approximately 60.5 miles will be located underground in public roadways. The project will be located in five counties (Coos, Grafton, Belknap, Merrimack, and Rockingham).

The Application is currently under review for administrative completeness under RSA 162-H:7, VI.

Pursuant to RSA 162-H:4-a, the Chairperson of the Committee may establish subcommittees "to consider and make decisions on applications, including the issuance of certificates, or to exercise any other authority or perform any other duty of the committee ...."

The subcommittee shall have no fewer than seven members when considering an application for

site and facility. The subcommittee assumes the role of and is considered the committee, with all of its associated powers and duties in order to execute the charge given it by the chairperson.

In order to assure the prompt and efficient consideration of the Application, I hereby appoint the following Subcommittee:

- 1. Martin Honigberg, Chairman, Public Utilities Commission Chair and Presiding Officer;
- 2. Thomas Burack, Commissioner, Department of Environmental Services;
- 3. Kathryn M. Bailey, Commissioner, Public Utilities Commission;
- 4. Jeffrey Rose, Commissioner, Department of Resources and Economic Development;
- 5. Victoria Sheehan, Commissioner, Department of Transportation;
- 6. Roger Hawk, Public Member; and
- 7. Patricia Weathersby, Public Member.

Pursuant to RSA 162-H:4-a, II, each state agency member may designate a senior administrative employee or staff attorney from his or her respective agency to sit in his or her place on the subcommittee. It is requested that the state agency members of the Subcommittee intending to designate a staff member do so, in writing to the attention of Pamela Monroe, Site Evaluation Committee Administrator, prior to November 13, 2015.

The Subcommittee is charged with resolving all issues that may arise in this docket and determining whether to grant or deny the application as filed.

So Ordered this second day of November 2015.

Martin P. Honigberg, Chairman

Site Evaluation Committee