STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE SITE EVALUATION COMMITTEE

PUBLIC MEETING MINUTES¹

General Business Public Meeting of the Site Evaluation Committee June 7th, 2023 10:00 AM

Present:Daniel Goldner, Chair, Public Utilities Commission
Robert Scott, Vice-Chair, Department of Environmental Services
Carleton Simpson, Public Utilities Commission
Pradip Chattopadhyay, Public Utilities Commission
William Cass, Department of Transportation
Michael York, Designee for the Department of Natural and Cultural Resources
Joseph Doiron, Designee for the Department of Business and Economic Affairs
Susan Duprey, Public Member

Individuals Appearing Before the Committee:

Mark Dell'Orfano, Counsel for Investigative Subsommittee
Thomas Eaton, Public Member, Investigative Subcommittee
Jonathan Evans, Presiding Officer, Investigative Subcommittee
Please see attached for public sign-in sheet.

Staff:Andrew Biemer, Administrator, Site Evaluation CommitteeSteven Patenaude, Court ReporterJD Lavallee, Counsel for Site Evaluation Committee

Chairman Daniel Goldner called the meeting to order at 10:15 AM

¹ The Site Evaluation Committee had a court reporter present for its business meeting. A detailed transcript supplementing these minutes will be available and posted to the Site Evaluation Committee's business meeting page. It will be accessible at: <u>https://www.nhsec.nh.gov/meetings under the Wednesday June 7</u>, 2023 meeting section.

10:15 AM: Chairman Goldner calls a public meeting of the Site Evaluation Committee to order and introduces members of the committee and staff. Motion to approve minutes of previous meeting seconded by Commissioner Chattopadhyay.

Chairman Goldner makes a motion to approve minutes of previous public meeting of the Site Evaluation Committee.

Motion Passes 6-0-2; Susan Duprey and Joseph Dorion abstain.

10:19 AM: Chairman Goldner explains the purpose of the meeting is to consider the recommendations of Investigative Subcommittee convened in Docket 2021-02. The Site Evaluation Committee intends to review the Investigative Subcommittee's Recommendation on how to handle specific operational complaints concerning the Antrim Wind facility. Before acting on the Subcommittee's recommendation, the Site Evaluation Committee will allow public comment on the Subcommittee's recommendation.

10:21 AM: Comments of Mr. Richard Block

Comments of Ms. Shelly Malkins

Comments of Mr. Carl Hanson

Comments of Ms. Lori Lerner

Public Member Susan Duprey asks to allow a statement from Lisa Linowes to be read into the record.

Commissioner Goldner says the 3 minute time limit will stand. Possible opportunity for additional time later in the meeting.

Comments of Mr. Joe Wilkas

Comments of Attorney Thomas Getz

Comments of Dr. Fred Ward

Comments of Mr. Eric Werme

10:50 AM: Motion to recess for meeting with counsel from Department of Justice. Motion made by Chairman Goldner, seconded by Joseph Doiron and passed unanimously by voice vote. **11:00 AM:** Chairman Goldner reconvenes public meeting and allows additional time for public comments.

Comments of Ms. Shelly Malkins

Comments of Mr. Carl Hanson

Ms. Lori Lerner reads letter from Ms. Lisa Linowes into the record.

Comments of Attorney Tom Getz

Comments of Dr. Fred Ward

Comments of Mr. Eric Werme

11:14 AM: Chairman Goldner opens deliberation by Site Evaluation Committee.

Public Member Susan Duprey asks Mr. Carl Hanson a question about wind turbine blade pitch. Mr. Hanson answers question regarding blade pitch and wind speed.

James Jalbert asks Mark Dell'Orfano and Jonathan Evans a question about subcommittee investigation. Mark Dell'Orfano answers question explaining methodology.

Joseph Doiron asks Mark Dell'Orfano and Jonathan Evans a question about subcommittee investigation.

Carleton Simpson asks Jonathan Evans about weather conditions during investigation. Jonathan Evans explains how weather was taken into consideration.

Mark Dell'Orfano answers question explaining weather conditions.

Robert Scott asks question about the transcript of the previous meeting. Jonathan Evans answers question saying he believes it was adequately addressed.

Pradip Chattopadhyay asks question about wind and turbine speed. Jonathan Evans answers explaining measurement conditions and wind speed.

Pradip Chattopadhyay asks question about rule for monitoring during meteorological conditions – says it is not addressed in subcommittee report. Mark Dell'Orfano answers question stating that effort was made to replicate meteorological conditions.

Susan Duprey asks question about waiving rules. Mark Dell'Orfano answers that rules were not waived.

Susan Duprey asks question to Lori Lerner about allowing technicians on property. Lori Lerner answers question explaining landowner concerns.

Susan Duprey asks Dr. Fred Ward a question about weather condition. Dr. Fred Ward answers and explains how weather conditions affect noise.

Robert Scott asks question clarifying additional rule making. Jonathan Evans answers question.

Robert Scott ask Andrew Biemer question regarding protocols for handling complaints. Andrew Biemer answers, explaining that clarity is needed on addressing complaints.

Susan Duprey asks question of Jonathan Evans about traffic noise barriers. Jonathan Evans answers question stating how noise is measured re: highway barriers.

Daniel Goldner asks Thomas Getz for comments. Thomas Getz makes comments.

12:00 PM: Committee takes a brief recess.

12:12 PM: Daniel Goldner brings meeting back to order to continue deliberation.

Vice Chair Scott thanks the Subcommittee for its work and then makes motion to: accept subcommittee recommendations of no further action on complaints listed in their report, investigate additional operational complaints associated with the facility and file disposition recommendations with the Committee, and propose draft administrative rules for the complaint process for the Committee to consider. Motion seconded by Joseph Doiron.

Carleton Simpson agrees with Robert Scott.

Susan Duprey says she cannot support the motion.

Pradip Chattopadhyay says we should stay focused on the task at hand. Adds that he agrees with clarifying rules.

Susan Duprey asks question about future complaints. Ads she would like further investigation of wind turbine lighting (ADLS).

James Jalbert says he also cannot support the motion – cites too many "unknowns."

Michael York states that he has concerns with the wind turbine lighting issue.

William Cass states that subcommittee charge was well-executed regarding the complaints before them.

Robert Scott clarifies his motion. Reminds committee that they are bound by the text of the certificate.

Joseph Doiron says that committee should examine the process.

Susan Duprey says that supporting committee motion will not solve long-term problems with the process.

Vice Chair Scott repeats his motion to ensure all Committee members understand what they are voting on. Joseph Doiron seconds motion.

Chair Goldner conducts vote via roll call:

Daniel Goldner – Abstain Robert Scott – Y Carleton Simpson, Y William Cass – Y Pradip Chattopadhyay – N Susan Duprey – N Michael York – Y Joseph Doiron – Y

Motion Passes 5-2-1

Carleton Simpson makes a motion to adjourn. William Cass seconds motion.

Motion passes unanimously.

12:35 PM: Meeting adjourns.